My name’s Lana. I am 25 years old and now participate daily in pretending to function as a fully fledged adult with a full time job, gym membership, awesome (albeit slightly crazy) flatmate, and not enough time for those Saturday morning sleep-ins.

For the first eight years of my life I grew up on a dairy farm in a small rural area called Ngarua. From there my parents moved us to the nearest town, Matamata. I loved growing up in little old Matamata, not only for the beautiful countryside, but also for the strong and interconnected community that is only possible to attain in small towns. In 2009 I moved to Auckland City to attend the University of Auckland where I spent five years studying ancient history and geography. Upon completing my Master of Arts in Coastal Geography in February 2014 I then moved to Timaru for a job in regional government at the end of April, which is where I find myself today.

There are many things I am interested in, but only a few I am truly passionate about. My key passions centre around the environment, in particular beaches, geology and natural hazards. Second to this would be my love of literature and music. These three things have shaped my life, and bring me a sense of inspiration and fulfillment that very few other things do.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s